5 August 2019

Heads of Member States have agreed on the next leaders of the European institutions. For the first time in the history of the EU, two women have been appointed to lead top EU institutions.

The EU has decided on its new leaders. Ursula von der Leyen, German Minister of Defence will be the new President of the European Commission and Christine Lagarde, Chairman of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) will be the new President of the European Central Bank (ECB). This breaks more than 60 years of male’s dominance in high level EU positions.

David Maria Sassoli, MEP (S&D, Italy) has been elected as the new President of the European Parliament, Josep Borrell, former Spanish Foreign Minister, will be the new Chief of External Action Service, and Charles Michel, former Prime Minister of Belgium, will be the new President of  the European Council.

In a debate with Members of the European Parliament, Ursula von der Leyen outlined her vision as future Commission President. Ms von der Leyen highlighted her commitment towards more investment and support for industries, businesses and manufacturers across the EU. This is important because it means the EU can focus on the most pressing issues facing industries today. For this, Ms von der Leyen will set up a team of Commissioners and will define her work programme and the priorities she wishes to set for her term of office.

For the printing industry it is important that the Commission focuses again on manufacturing. “We need to invest in innovation and research, redesign our economy and update our industrial policy”  concluded Ms von der Leyen in her plan for a new industrial strategy in Europe that serves people, regions and the economy.